Faculty Awards Celebrate Excellence and 835 Combined Years of Professorial Service


Five faculty members and their colleagues were honored at the 2011 Annual Faculty Awards Reception on March 17, which was held in the South Wing of the University Library. The following faculty members were awarded for their achievements and will be recognized at this year’s Commencement exercises:

Excellence in Service Award
Dr. Cathy Jacobs, Interdisciplinary Studies:
PACE, Biology

Excellence in Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity Award
Dr. Janine Gasco, Anthropology

Excellence in Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity Award
Dr. Terrence McGlynn, Biology

Lyle E. Gibson Dominguez Hills Distinguished Teacher Award
Dr. Emily Magruder, Humanities

Presidential Outstanding Professor Award
Dr. L. Mark Carrier, Psychology

In addition, a number of faculty members were recognized for their milestone anniversaries of teaching at California State University, Dominguez Hills.

Dr. Burckhard Mohr, professor of English, celebrates his 40 years at CSU Dominguez Hills; pictured with Dr. Carol Tubbs, acting dean, College of Arts and Humanities (at left) and President Mildred García.

Dr. Burckhard Mohr, professor of English, celebrates his 40 years at CSU Dominguez Hills; pictured with Dr. Carol Tubbs, acting dean, College of Arts and Humanities (at left) and President Mildred García.

President Mildred García welcomed the audience, in particular the students who attended the event in support of their professors. She also thanked Shell Pipeline for its gift of $25,000 in support of university events such as the Faculty Awards Program, which allowed the university to double the honorarium to each of the five faculty members. In addition, the Shell gift funds the President’s Scholarship program, the College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences Speaker Series, and the School of Education Credential Recognition event.

“Shell has been a long time donor to our campus and over the last two years we have worked very closely to develop a wonderful partnership,” said García. “Don Herman of Shell Pipeline, who isn’t able to be here this evening, joined our Foundation Board last year and he has been a great asset.  They have hired faculty and students for projects at their facility, supported our scholarship programs, and also supported the faculty through events like the one this evening.”

“Shell is working diligently to be the most innovative energy company in the world and part of innovation is a strong educational foundation,” said Alan Caldwell, communications manager of Shell’s L.A. Basin region.  “Investing in the future success of students in Carson and the South Bay helps us contribute to a vibrant community. That is why we are excited to work with CSU Dominguez Hills to support students as the innovators of the future.”

(L-R) Dr. Irene Vasquez, professor and chair of Chicana/o studies and the Academic Senate; Dr. Terrence McGlynn, associate professor of biology; Dr. Emily Magruder, lecturer, humanities; Alan Caldwell, communications manager, Shell Pipeline; Dr. Cathy Jacobs, lecturer, interdisciplinary studies/PACE and biology; Dr. Janine Gasco, associate professor of anthropology; Dr. L. Mark Carrier, associate professor, psychology; Dr. Ron Vogel, provost and vice president, Academic Affairs; and President Mildred García

García recognized the evening’s five main honorees as well as 59 members of the faculty who were celebrating a collective 835 years of teaching and service at CSU Dominguez Hills.

“You serve as the core of this university and have the single largest impact on our students,” she said. “You are mentors, role models, advisors, liaisons, parent-figures, big-brothers and -sisters and leaders in your communities. When I visit with our students I am struck by how often their first comments are about our faculty and the positive difference they have made in their lives. ” She closed by thanking faculty for “inspiring our students, your colleagues and me.”

The following are faculty members who were recognized with service awards for milestone anniversaries at CSU Dominguez Hills:

University Library:

15 Years – Dr. John C. Calhoun; 35 Years – Mrs. Joanna E. Dunklee

College of Arts and Humanities:

5 Years
– Dr. Dana S. Belu, Dr. Marisela R. Chavez, Dr. C. Randolph Cauthen, Dr. Salim Faraji, Dr. Jonathon Grasse, Dr. Richard Kravchak, Dr. Vivian Price, and Dr. Irene Vasquez

15 Years – Dr. Mark D. Waldrep; 20 Years – Dr. William R. Deluca and Dr. Thomas J. Giannotti; 25 Years – Dr. Carol A. Tubbs; 30 Years – Dr. James E. Sudalnik; 40 Years – Dr. Burckhard Mohr

College of Business Administration and Public Policy

5 Years – Dr. David Hoopes, Dr. Elena Koulikov, Dr. Cynthia Ozeki, Dr. Hamid Pourmohammadi, Dr. Melissa St. James, and Dr. Bingsheng Yi

10 Years – Dr. Clarence A. Martin;20 Years – Dr. Richard B. Malamud; 25 Years – Dr. Ricardo M. Ulivi; 35 Years – Dr. Rodney A. Freed

College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences

5 Years – Dr. Teili Wang, Dr. Matthew Mutchler, Dr. Keisha Paxton, Dr. John Price, Dr. Sohaila Shakib, Dr. La Tanya Skiffer, Dr. Carl Sneed, and Dr. John R. Thomlinson

15 Years – Dr. Jacqueline Barab; 20 Years – Dr. Kenneth S. Ganezer, Dr. Getachew Z. Kidane, Dr. Alice L. Newman, Dr. Silvia Santos, Dr. Marek A. Suchenek, Dr. John R. Wilkins; 25 Years – Dr. Frederick Brulois and Dr. Sofia Pappatheodorou; 35 Years – Dr. Laura J. Robles

College of Professional Studies

5 Years – Dr. Lee Hancock, Dr. Jeng-Liang Hwang, Dr. Michelle Linden, and Dr. Larry Ortiz

10 Years – Dr. Carole A. Shea; 15 Years – Dr. Cynthia G. Johnson and Dr. Caron Mellblom

20 Years – Dr. Carrie A. Blackaller, Dr. Cheryl Jackson-Harris, Dr. Pamela Krochalk, Dr. Rose A. Welch, and Dr. William R. Whetstone; 25 Years – Dr. Mary L. Cappel and Dr. Antoinette Marich

Student Affairs

5 Years – Dr. Tiffany Herbert

Speak Your Mind